The Bold and the Beautiful – and my bike

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Adstories
Tags: , , , , , ,

A few years ago we brought Ronn Moss, star of the long running US soap The Bold and the Beautiful, out to Australia to appear in a TV commercial for a tooth whitening product. The idea in the commercial was that you could have “Hollywood” teeth, just like Ronn’s, simply by applying the product for 30 minutes a day – the duration of an episode of The Bold and the Beautiful.

Anyhow, Ronn had some downtime between filming and expressed a desire to explore the cycle tracks that surround Melbourne and follow the Yarra River through the city. Eager to please our Hollywood star, I organised my brand new mountain bike to be delivered to Ronn’s hotel, along with the mandatory bike helmet. The bike got a fair bit of use – Ronn said he loved it and was enjoying exploring the city’s bike tracks.

In some strange way, I was also enjoying lending my bike to Ronn. Admittedly, not being a viewer of The Bold and the Beautiful, I’d never heard of him a month or so earlier. But, I’d come to learn that millions of women around the world swoon over Ronn Moss. It couldn’t hurt having a mate like that. And I figured, by lending my bike, Ronn and I had become mates. Sort of.

After three days, all filming was done and Ronn jetted back to LA.

A few days later I stopped by the hotel to pick up my bike only to be told, it was gone!

I couldn’t believe it. What had happened to my brand new bike? Did Ronn really pack it up and take it home on the plane? Did he assume, in some soap-opera superstar way, that it was a gift?

I still don’t know what happened to that bike, Ronn hasn’t been in touch. So much for “mates”. But if you ever see a black mountain bike appear in an episode of The Bold and the Beautiful, let me know.

Posts are updated about once a week. See “Email Subscription” at the top of the column at left to be automatically notified of new posts via email. Alternately, click the Twitter button below to be notified of new posts via Twitter.

Follow AdStories on Twitter

 

Leave a comment